People "Feeling Poor" - a Rant

This is the front porch of our forum. Pull up a chair, and talk about whatever's on your mind.
HappyDaze

People "Feeling Poor" - a Rant

Post by HappyDaze »

I was listening to a documentary about middle class Americans who can't pay off debts and came away miffed at the folks featured in it. A lot of whining about how "I am middle class and I WORK A JOB - therefore I should be able to get out of debt - but I can't..." and other similar expressions of "poor me".

There is NO talk about making any sacrifices - they continue to live the same - expecting a different result - like some magic "get out of debt free" pill is going to come along.

One person was listing off expenses...$280 a month for cell phone!!! Nails and hair are professionally done, driving an expensive car, going out to eat weekly with friends - you get the idea.

Listen, I am no financial expert but this is math a third grader can comprehend. To get out of debt, some simple things have to happen: 1. You live WAY below your means and put every cent you can scrape together toward the debt. 2. You bring in extra income and apply ALL of it to the debt. I have done this - it WORKS. It is the ONLY thing that works!!

Along the way - or first - (and this is NOT an endorsement of Dave Ramsey but his book is what turned it around for me), you have to save something for an emergency and STOP the spending!!!

Nobody wants to SACRIFICE a darn thing to get out of debt. Nobody wants to talk about eating rice and beans at home and driving a beater car and lowering the thermostat and doing their own manicures, etc. - they don't CHANGE anything - just throw up their hands and say "I can't do it."

Personally, I was in debt because of car repairs, home repairs and vet bills, and later on I let an ex make that debt worse. The "why" doesn't matter - the debt is my responsibility - but some of these people are in debt because of expensive cars, vacations, clothes!!!