- Maple syrup, pancake syrup, vanilla-flavored nut or soy milk, flavoring extract (almond, lemon, orange), bourbon, rum, brandy, honey, vanilla beans, vanilla paste or vanilla powder
Replace the vanilla extract that’s called for with an equal measure of any of the ingredients listed above. If you decide to use almond extract as your substitute, use half as much, to account for it’s stronger flavor.
- Pure maple syrup and raw honey are gluten-free. Vanilla-flavored nut or soy milk, vanilla paste and vanilla powder may also be gluten-free. Consult their product label.
- Nutrition facts are based off of using maple syrup as the substitute.